UNSC is one of the most important organs of the United Nations whose primary responsibility is the maintenance of international peace and security. The UNSC is the only UN body with the authority to issue binding resolutions on member states. The Security Council consists of fifteen members, of which the permanent five are: China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom, and the United States of America. The UN’s role in international collective security is defined by the UN Charter, which authorizes the Security Council to deal with any situation that is a threat to international peace and security. This makes the UNSC a crucial organ of the UN.
The situation in the India/Pakistan subcontinent.
FREEZE DATE: 6th December 1971 (1608th meeting of the Security Council)