Formed on 16 January 1958, the European Commission (EC) is the executive arm of the European Union. It is a body with remarkable powers and has wide-ranging legislative, legal, judicial and economic functions. The commission plays a vital role in managing the Economic and Monetary Union (EMU) and the budget of the EU. Structurally, the EC is composed of members called commissioners, nominated by the respective governments of each member state. However, since the EC is solely concerned with representing the community interests of the EU as a whole, the commissioners are forbidden to take instructions from member states and are required to act independently.

The EC, under Article 3.3 of the ‘Treaty on The European Union’ (TEU), has adopted Sustainable Development as one of its fundamental aims. It works for the sustainable development of Europe based on balanced economic growth and aims to achieve full employment and social progress through such endeavours.



Development of a sustainable economic policy to foster European unity by capitalising on the potential synergies in the economic and social sphere.